1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2005

How hard are your tires?

Hey all I don't know if this should be in the wheels forum instead, but as I'm a beginner I'll put it here to start.

Yesterday I went for a short ride on some trials and I looked down and my front tire looked a little low, so I pumped it up a bit with my hand pump, but it doesn't have a pressure gauge on it. So I just pumped till it felt full and finished the ride.

When I got back and checked some of these forums, most people were saying pressure should be between 30-40 psi in general. So today I stopped by my LBS and got a gauge that works on presta valves and started refilling the air while checking the pressure. The gauge definetely showed the increase from zero till 30 psi, then no matter how much I pump air in, the gauge won't go any higher. I was worried about over inflating my tires for a couple of reasons.

So heres the question. Are your tires rock hard or does it sound like my gauge is broken? If your tires are that hard, should it be so difficult to get that last 5 or 6 psi? Is there a way to check the calibration at home on the gauge? I might just take the bike and the gauge back to the store and make sure everything is kosher.