1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

How to fit a pre-owned bike?

NOOB here. Went on my 1st MTB ride in Mammoth with a buddy and was blow away how much fun it was. Upon returning home I immediately began searching Craig’s list for pre-owned bikes. I am 5’ 11’ with short arms. I rode a TREK carbon fiber, full suspension, size MED bike in Mammoth and it felt like a good fit. So, I looked for and purchased a pre-owned size MED bike. After consistently riding for a few weeks I began to get a myriad of sore parts… Stiff neck, sore right wrist, loss of strength in right thumb. Sore wrist is apparently from not holding bars correctly. Weak thumb, a combination of pour wrist form and lots of shifting. Stiff neck, probably from not relaxing while riding. Anyway, I saw a chiropractor for the stiff neck. He rode MTBs and even competed in races. He suggested that I get a “Fit Kit” for my bike.

Have any of you gotten a “fit kit”? If yes, did it help? If no, how do you “retrofit” my pre-owned bike for me?

> /dev/null 2&>1

Re: How to fit a pre-owned bike?

By fit kit, your buddy probably just means a stem & bars. Usually when fitting a bike, you want to adjust seat height first, along with seat fore/aft, then establish your ideal reach based on that, and buy a stem/bars that gets you to this reach.