1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2014

How to find a solid beginner mountain bike for a decent price

Hello everyone!

I am new to the sport of mountain biking. I have been going to local trails and riding for only a couple months with a few friends but I have fallen in love with the sport! I have been riding my dad's old bike for the time being. It is an old 19" Trek bike with 26" wheels and no suspension of any sort. I am looking into buying a new bike for myself that has suspension of some sort. I am currently leaning towards a hardtail. The only problem is I am a college kid and do not have enough money to drop $350+ on a new bike.

Can anyone give me any ideas on where to buy a solid beginner mountain bike that won't break my bank account?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Step one: Get another job.
    Step two: Enlarge your bank account
    Step three: Craiglist is your friend

I'd rather be on my bike
    Save your money, and ride your Dad's bike as long as you can. If he will give it to you, that is a bonus.
    '13 FELT TK3 / '09 Jamis Sonik
    The pedals turn, not just the left one, but the right one too.
    2014 miles - 3036/2500

mtbr member
    I'm in pretty much your exact position, and so far have done pretty well for myself-