1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2006

How do you know when to switch to clipless?

Hey All,

I've been riding for 2 months now, and I've put >200 miles on my bike. I am still very much a beginner, and still pretty out of shape, but that's what the bike is for! I have gotten much better at climbing, but I do end up busting climbs, sometimes because of poor line choice, others because my feet will come off the pedals, or my foot will be too far forward, and scrape against the front tire.

I can totally see the advantages, but I wonder if my skill level is right. Can anyone offer any sage advice? Should I be able to do x, y, or z before I switch?

Thanks,

Mr_Whiskerz

mtbr member
    Mar 2006

Hey

I am in the exact same stage as you and made the switch.. don't regret it at all.. it's really not hard to ride clipless

mtbr member
    what kind of platform padals are you using right now? maybe you should just need a set of pedals with a more grippy surface so that your feet dont slide around so much.

its really not difficult to ride with clipless pedals. it takes a few days to get used to clipping in and out without having to think about it but after that riding clipless is a breeze.

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    Thanks Guys!