1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Cool-blue Rhythm Hi I'm New To This!

Im 29 from Florida 2 weeks ago was my first time riding a bike on a trail... I rented a GT Karakoram and loved it. I was tired as hell and my butt hurted for a week, but I bought a Trek x-caliber 8 the other day it'll be here in 2 days. I would love to go biking and camping somewhere here in Florida, if u know any good spots pls let me know... THX
    Last edited by YellaBoii83 79; 09-12-2013 at 03:21 AM.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    Your local bike shop is usually a good place to start for that kind of info.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    start here!
    SWAMP: Florida Mountain Bike Trail Locations

Florida Off-Road Cycling Enthusiasts

Biking Florida - Offroad: Rail Trails & Public Land | GORP.com

thats just what i got from google.

i would also go to facebook, that has been a good resource for me here in DFW

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by griftymcgrift View Post
    start here!
    SWAMP: Florida Mountain Bike Trail Locations

Florida Off-Road Cycling Enthusiasts

Biking Florida - Offroad: Rail Trails & Public Land | GORP.com

thats just what i got from google.

i would also go to facebook, that has been a good resource for me here in DFW