1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Help on what to buy

Hey guys I am definitely a noob here so forgive my ignorance and I've been riding for about 6months now and my wife is going to let me buy my first "real" mtb for my 30th birthday I am limited on funds, only $400, but I have found two bikes I would like some help deciding on.

First:

Airborne Skyhawk-

Frame: 6061 Aluminum Hardtail MTB

Fork: SR Suntour XCM 100mm Travel

Headset: Ahead Sealed Cartridge 1 1/8"

Brake Levers: Tektro Auriga Comp

Brakes: Tektro Auriga Comp Hydraulic Disc

Rotors: Tektro 160mm Rotor

Shifters: SRAM X-4 Trigger 8 Speed

F Derailleur: Shimano FD-C050

R Derailleur: SRAM X-4

Cassette: SRAM PG-820 13-32t 8-Speed

Chain: KMC Z-72 Nickel Plated

Crank: SR Suntour PGIG 22-32-42t

Bottom Bracket: Cartridge Type

Pedals: NONE

Rims: Alex DP17 Double Wall 32h Disk Specific PV

Hubs: 32h Alloy QR Disc Specific

Spokes: Black 14g Stainless

Tires: KENDA 26 x 2.1" Front/Rear Specific

Handlebar: Kalloy Alloy 31.8mm Dia., 640mm Wide, Mid-Rise

Stem: Kalloy Alloy 31.8 Clamp Dial, +/- 7 Degree Rise

Saddle: WTB Speed V Saddle

Seat Post: Kalloy Alloy 30mm Dia., 350mm Length

Extras: Owner's Manual, Clear Coat, H20 Bottle Mounts

And

Nashbar AT-3-