1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

Help with tuning rear shock - First full suspension

So I just got my first full suspension bike, and really this is my first year riding aggressively... so it works out. I just built and got my bike tuned at the local shop but they did not touch the suspension (which is fine). However, I'm a bit confused about the terminology for some of the components and am wondering if someone could simplify this for me. So, for starters here is my new (used) bike (2009 Cannondale Carbon Moto 2).

Help with tuning rear shock - First full suspension-moto-2.jpg

The Fox 36 Talas front fork is easy enough to adjust because it seems generally weight sensitive and then there's the rebound nob which seems pretty intuitive.

Just for the record I'm 5'7" and 150 lbs.

It's the Fox DHX Air 4.0 rear shock that is a bit complicated for me. I set the main chamber at 140 lbs because it seemed pretty much in the middle range but I'm not really sure how to determine if there is too much sag or too little. Someone in a local bike shop informed me that they usually start w/ this pressure then adjust accordingly.

I mostly understand rebound, I just haven't figured out yet what I'm looking for in my rebound adjustment. I might just set it in the middle and see if that's comfortable.