1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

help please... newbee

I'm new in South Florida and biking, and have the bug o do some off road riding. i found out about the mud club at the bike shop. I have two questions.Are there any beginner rides available, and does anybody have and experience with Montague Paratrooper mountain bike? It's a folding bike, i have a very small studio. any help appreciated

Freshly Fujified

Welcome to mtbr

While I can't help with the "mud club" or whether or not they have beginners rides (check back with the bike shop you went to for that info) I can definitely advise against purchasing a folding bike. While the Montague claims to have been designed for military usage, and seems to be one of the better folding bikes, I would say that you can spend the same amount of money on a regular hardtail that will have better components. Buy a standard hardtail and find a creative way of storing the bike. There are several racks that mount the bike on the wall, ceiling, etc.

Just my 2 cents as always. Best wishes in finding the right bike.

Bob
    Last edited by Call_me_Clyde; 04-26-2006 at 10:58 AM.
    'If Wal-Mart sold parachutes, who would jump?' Frank Havnoonian (quoting his father) Drexel Hill Cyclery

mtbr member
    May 2005