1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2012

... and if we just ... Help a noob - Trek 4300 disc vs Cannondale F4 Euro model?

So I'm new to the MTB world, did BMX last about 10yr ago, and I'm ready to buy a bike. I plan on riding primarily singletracks in the Charlotte area such as usnwc, for those who may be familiar with the area. I have a limited budget, about $500, have been shopping and researching like crazy the past week. I've been by 6 local shops, spoke to a few bike nuts at work, and have been on countless websites. I have a pretty good idea of what I want now and I think these two fit the bill perfectly. Both lightly used, in great condition, all original, from people I know, but I'm having trouble deciding and determining value.

2011 Trek 4300 disc, bought 6mo ago used very little, wife forcing him to sell - $400
    26", Spinner 300 fork, Promax DSK-907 hydraulic brakes, Bontrager Ranger double wall wheels, alum frame, Shimano Altus & Alivio drivetrain, Acera shifters, 24speed... you guys know what this is (+ spare tubes, water bottle & cage)

[s]2010[/s] 2009 Cannondale F4 European version, bought 3yr ago and ~300 road miles put on it before he bought a road bike and let this sit - $???? (MSRP $1060, he paid $950)