1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2014

Help a noob choose a bike

Soooo, I'm totally new to mountain biking and want to purchase my first bike. I did some mild downhill last Sunday on a rental bike and got hooked. I've visited two lbs in my area and here's what they got:
    One lbs sells mainly Fuji bikes and the only option they had was the Nevada 1.7. The other lbs had more options: Specialized Rockhopper, Trek X-Caliber 6, X-Caliber 8, and Felt 7-sixty. I'm still doing my research on the different components, but for a total newb it's a bit confusing. By budget is about $1,000. My other options would be ordering online from bikesdirect or Airborne. I know there's a lot of knowledgeable people on this forum so can you please help me out. What would be the best bike in this price range. Thanks in advance

mtbr member
    So what kind of riding are you interesting in doing? Mainly DH or some XC riding with plenty of climbing as well? Was the bike you rented a full suspension or hard tail?

mtbr member
    Jul 2014
    Mostly XC. The bike I rented was a full suspension specialized which I was told was a $5k bike. That's definitely not the type of a bike I would need. Looking for a hard tail

mtbr member
    Jun 2014