1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Help a newbie get into MTB

Hello,

So I am posting here because today I had my first ever MTB experience at the Wompatuck State park in Hingham,MA, USA.

I have been riding a (rigid) hybrid for two years, mostly on roads and paved bike trails. BUT todays experience has got me thinking, and thinking hard about MTB.

I went to the WOmpatuck park today, rode on my hybrid, rode pretty hard, spent 3 hours, and did about 15 miles. It was tough, but man was it awesome. I had to do a LOT of walking, since my bike wasn't upto the task.

So, that brings me to the topic:
    Help me choose a bike, and also help me recognize what is the technical term for the kind of terrain you see here (the video is from a Wompatuck race...got it from youtube)

(Skip to around 5:50 for real action...)

(it seems much easier in the beginning but gets hard towards the end)

This is the kind of trail I want to be riding. When I rode today, it had a lot of rocks, wasn't too uphill, plenty of wet ground, a lot of roots, some streams, some gravel etc.

For my bike, from what I have read in past two hours, seems like a hardtail is recommended for beginners.

My budget is around $600-700. I have been checking out Jamis Durango, and would like suggestions on similarly priced 29ers ?