1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Help...new to disc brakes.

I have been riding and working on bikes for a while, but just picked up a used 2008 Stumpjumper Comp Hardtail , so I am a noob to some of the components. Two issues that I need some advice on:
    1. I have zero experience with disc brakes, and this has Avid Juicy 5s. There is some rubbing in the rear caliper. From reading other posts on here, I know that this isn't uncommon on these brakes. What's the best approach to resolving this?
    2. It has a fairly new XT bottom bracket that feels like it has an unusual amount of friction when spinning the cranks forwards or backwards, at least compared to my old one. Any advice on improving this or is the next step replacing the bottom bracket?
    Thanks for any help.

mtbr member
    1. true the rotor and check to see that the pads are seated firmly.