1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Help me be a better human :) (on a bike)

I am brand new to this. I havent ridden a bike since I was 16. Im 35 now. I was a highschool football star. I was in the Army as a paratrooper. I am athletic. I am also now a fat bastard though a good natured one.

Running is no longer my thing. I hike. I lift. I have lost 80lbs over the last 2 years. I want to do something physical and exciting and new to continue to get in shape (it helps in the decision that theres an awesome lake just minutes from my house that i hike where i see ppl biking alot). After looking around for a few weeks, mountain biking looks like a blast.

The kicker is I have absolutely no knowledge at all about bikes. I am 6' and 300 lbs. I went to a bike shop today and got measured. in Giant i am a L, and in inches i am 18.5 - 20 for a bike size.

so I need help with a decent bike in the $600.00-$800.00 range that is made for a fat bastard like me. I dont want to trash a bike because i got something for a skinny man.

SO I am asking for your help. what bike should i get in my price range to not have to be afraid of wrecking and destroying my investment?