1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Help with hills

Bike Ninja
    May 2006

Help with hills

I'm very new to mtn biking. I used to ride road (until I destroyed my bike), and now I've gotten back into biking. Mostly I ride flat trails, but I'd really like to do more hills. My problem is that anything more than 20 ft kills me. I feel I should be able to do more since I run and bike regularly. Am I doing someting wrong or is it that I'm just not used to it? It's really frustrating!

Faller - Expert Class
    Well, just remember you are just getting back into biking, so it will take a while to get your muscles that you use for cycling the most, back up to par. Also, are you making sure you're trying to shift into an easy gear before you start your climb?

Give it time. It'll get easier!

2006 Kona Leroi

Quote Originally Posted by azonicrider188a
    well just get your asses some juicy 7s and huck down a mountain. thoose v brakes will snap like my butt

mtbr member

cadence, effort, breathing