1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Help: GT Zaskar or Giant Talon

I wasn't sure where to post this so I posted in the General forum first, but thought I might get more replies here.

Hi all. I am new to mountain biking and have been riding an old Cannondale F400 for a while now. But now I think I want to upgrade to something new. I have been looking around quite a bit and seem to have narrowed my choices down to a couple of options. First is the 2014 Giant Talon 0 27.5 that I have test rode on road for a bit and seemed to like. Second is a 2013 GT Zaskar 9r Sport which is marked down to $900. Seems like GT doesn't have a lot of high praise but maybe is coming back. I didn't get to ride the GT yet, but if it feels a comfortable as the Giant I may go that route for the price alone. Here are the links to the two I am considering:

2013 Zaskar 9R Sport - XC Bikes - Mountain Bikes - GT Bicycles

Talon 27.5 1 (2014) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | United States

To me it seems the GT is a much better buy at 900 than the new model Giant. If anybody has any opinions on either I would certainly like to know. My riding consists mostly road but I do mix in some not too extreme trails as well. Thanks for any and all inputs.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008