1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2012

Helmet Concerns Regarding Ventilation

First off, you should know that I'm a complete noob when it comes to MTB... so I apologize for what will probably be a stupid question.

Anyway, I was just wondering if a helmet like the Bern Macon would have enough ventilation to wear in the summer or not. I know that the "summer" padding is supposed to be designed for proper airflow, but I'm not sure how efficient it actually is; does anyone have any real-world experience with this?

I generally feel more comfortable in this style helmet, but if my brain is going to boil, I'm thinking it's probably not worth it...

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Macon : Bern

That helmet will be a lot hotter than say

Volt Triathlon Helmet, Road Cycling Helmets - Bell Sports

(Interesting the Volt is listed as a dirt helmet, but the link says Triathalone/road)....Anyway I have ridden the Volt for 7 years now in the dirt.

You see people take their helmets off to climb a mountain etc....especially with something like a Bern Macon...

So if they fall going over a log or maybe a short downhill.....

They are unprotected for that amount of time....

On the other hand they have more protection on the side and the rear of the head....