1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Hello, and some new bike advise please

Hello,

This is my first time posting here. I see there is plenty to read here about bikes and related info. I'm almost ready to make a purchase after taking a look at some different bikes and trying to determine what the best setup is for the riding I plan to do.

I'm looking for a full suspension bike with 27.5 wheels. I rode a Giant over the weekend, a Jamis, and I am going to look at a KONA soon,
    so here's some more specifics as to what I'm looking at.

Kona Precept DL
    Kona Process 134

Jamis Dakar XCT 650 Comp

Giant Anthem 27.5 3
    Giant Trance 27.5 3

Opinions welcome!

Jake

Fat-tired Roadie
    Ride them all, buy your favorite.

Looks like there's everything from XC bikes to AM bikes in your list. Not that it's terribly important in real life, but what kind of riding do you plan to do? If nothing grabs you, that will help you narrow your list.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    I guess I need some help in breaking this down: