1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2012

GT Karakoram 2.0 or Giant Talon 1

Im new to Mountian biking. However, I do have a background with dirt bikes. I rented a Talon in Big Bear a few weekends ago and really enjoyed myself. I have never ridden a 29er before so that was interesting. I really liked it but really like the Karakoram as well. I havent had time to sit on the GT. I was wondering what your input was?? I know nothing about components except what i have read and what the LBS have explained to me. I will probably use this as a rec bike but would like to get in some fun in on the trails. What do you guys think?

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    While I do recommend that you ride both bikes in order to make an informed decision, the reality is that between the two bikes you listed the real difference between them is primarily going to be determinable by the overall quality of the components on each bike.

How can you tell which components are better than others?

As a comparison the ranking for component levels generally goes like this (from lowest/cheapest to highest/more expensive):

Shimano Parts:

SIS/Tourney/No name at all (cheapest possible) - Terrible
    Altus - Poor
    Acera - Poor/fair
    Alivio - Fair
    Deore/Deore Shadow - Good
    LX/SLX - Very Good
    XT - Excellent