mtbr member
    Feb 2009

New question here. GT Avalanche 3.0 or Haro Flightline Comp

Hey guys, I'm trying to buy a new bike and I'm struggling trying to decide on these two bikes.

I am a beginner biker. I used to really enjoy it up till I was 18 but haven't touched it for 10 years. I am hoping to get back into it but I am having a tough time deciding between these two bikes.

GT Avalanche 3.0
    http://www.gtbicycles.com/nzl/eng/Pr...dventure/#5726

or

Haro Flightline Comp
    http://www.harobikes.com/mtb/tab2_subNav3.php

Both bikes are the same price in my area but the haro seems to be a good bit pricier online.This makes me wonder if the Haro is a far better bike but just a low price in my local shop.

I will be sending alot of time with my bike on the road but would really like to be able to take it on some downhill and trails too. Then if I like downhilling with it, I could maybe upgrade it to better specs as I can afford it. I hear the GT avalanche has a great frame and this is obviously very important but the Haro gets a better rating on MTBR.

I am confused and it would be great if you good folk could help decide. Maybe have had both bikes at some stage etc...

Thanks in advance,
    Jason

Hoosier
    We can't decide for you. Take each bike out for a test ride in at least one size if not two. After that choose whichever bike felt more comfortable for you.
    SS is like beer...its an acquired taste.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    First of all, welcome to the forums.

Going by the specs the Haro has a slightly better component set. Given the price was equal I'd go for that. Personally I'm riding a Haro Flightline Sport and I love every bit of it. I just bought a new ride so my Flightline is going to be taking a back seat, but that's the bike I've learned and grown on. Its been able to take a beating and keep on ticking with minor work (busted derailleur hanger...my fault). The frame is sturdy and willing to move with me pretty well.