1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Griant Trance vs Motobecane Fantom

I'm pretty new to mountain biking but have been riding consistently for the last year now. My current bike is a Giant Revel 1, it works for now. However, I'm looking to get a something new and want to get into the sport a little more so a new bike is in the works. I've been doing some research and I'm pretty sure I want a 29er with a full suspension with an option to lock out. I'm looking at the best bang for the buck but will also allow me to build as parts wear down. I've been looking at two different bikes the Giant Trance and the Motobecane Fantom FS. Bottom line I need some help with my decision because truth be told I really don't know what to look for in a bike. I have thought about buying one on CL but I could never find one I like. The type of riding I do is mainly the hills and trails in Fort Ord. I plan on riding in the Santa Cruz Mountains as well as entering in the Sea Otter Classic next April. Anyhow, I hope this give you an idea of what I plan on doing with my new bike. Here are some links at what I'm looking at. SRAM X9, 3x10 Speed 29er Full Suspension Mountain Bikes - MTB - 2012 Motobecane Fantom 29er | SRAM X9 full suspension mountain bikes | Save up to 60% off list prices