1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Greetings, Noob Here

Hey all. Noob to MTB per se, but have wanted to do some off-road riding for years. I played at BMX as a kid and have an early 90s Bianchi hybrid that I have ridden the crap out of.

I'm 6-1, 33" bike inseam. After snooping around a bit, I ordered a Fantom 29 Sport from BD. Hope I didnt pork up too badly. Beginning to think I might should have gone for the 529HT instead. Thoughts on that choice welcome (yes I know the ins and outs of used, LBS, BD, etc.). The bike should be here Friday, so I guess if I'm going to send it back for a different one, I had better get convinced soon.

The Bianchi taught me the off-road limitations of a hybrid, but I am not sure how hard core I will ever get. In all likelihood I will probably be pounding a lot of pavement on the way to some fairly mild trails. My sense of self-preservation from the BMX days tells me I probably wont get too hard core.

Anyway, I look forward to learning and growing.

Fat-tired Roadie
    I doubt that there's a difference that matters between the bike you ordered and the one you didn't.