Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

GPS For Android

3K views 35 replies 28 participants last post by  Roasted 
#1 ·
I'm looking for a good GPS program for Android phones to record my rides with. I'd prefer one that will let me load the file into Google Earth. Any suggestions?

#4 ·
x3.. ive been using mytracks since i started riding.. just clip my htc onto my belt and it gives little updates if your volume is turned up... for example... every mile it tells you distance traveled/time on route/average speed.. also gives options on exporting the routes to computer etc.. neat app

#7 ·
I'm using endomondo.
You can set it for any sport you are doing and it uploads to web when you're finished.
When you access the website you can see your route taken, altitude and speeds.

Not sure what extra you get for the paid version but the free one does everything I need.

#8 ·
Heres some of my MyTracks maps on google for you to play with. Since I keep the phone in my camelback I usually don't mark any points. But it does all the basic stuff I want it to. The only hiccup I've had was one ride where i didn't refresh "my location" when I started out. I got all the distance and elevation figures but it couldn't produce a map to upload. Worked perfectly every other time though.

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=...206,-75.221844&spn=0.018689,0.033088&t=h&z=15

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=...d=214172254880414245753.0004a0d14ad7c46b85e1b

#10 ·
I've been using Cardio Trainer with good results.

I have My Tracks installed on my phone but I was impatient when it took 5+ minutes to get a GPS lock. :confused: I ended up loading Cardio Trainer and I've been using it since.
I read on another board about that issue. It happens if you only enable the google location service in the phone settings. When I'm about to use my tracks I turn on all 3 location services in the settings and it gets a lock in a few seconds.

#12 ·