1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    Life is Short...Ride Hard

got a flat, how about a tube eh!

So I got my first flat since I started riding. I feel like a real mountain bike rider now

Luckily I made it back to the car. It actually wasnt till I pulled the bike out of the garage to go for another ride that I realized I even had a flat. It was empty of air.

Anyhow, I need to buy some tubes and patch kits. So Whats the differences between tubes? Do I need to spend a lot on tubes or can I just use cheap tubes?

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    There are differences in tubes ,heavy duty, lite weight ,preinstalled slime. In general buy what's onsale. Or go to tubeless,I've worn out tires running tubeless with no flats.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by LvilleFan View Post
    So I got my first flat since I started riding. I feel like a real mountain bike rider now

Luckily I made it back to the car. It actually wasnt till I pulled the bike out of the garage to go for another ride that I realized I even had a flat. It was empty of air.

Anyhow, I need to buy some tubes and patch kits. So Whats the differences between tubes? Do I need to spend a lot on tubes or can I just use cheap tubes?
    http://www.notubes.com/Stans-Tubeless-Kits-C12.aspx

mtbr member
    Apr 2011