1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jan 2014

Is this a good deal?

Hello all. I'm completely new to the world of mountain biking, and I'm looking into getting my first bike. While I was looking through my local Craigslist ads, I stumbled upon this GT Zaskar LE. Can anybody offer some input as to whether or not I should check this bike out? I will be riding in South Florida, so I don't think I need a full suspension bike. My budget for a bike is around $600-$800, but If i don't have to spend all that money, then I would prefer not to. I would rather spend that on equipment like a good helmet and other gear. Oh, and if it helps, I'm 5'11 and weigh 180lbs. Thanks in advance!

GT ZASKAR LE BIKE - Easton tubing - USA - OBO

rebmem rbtm
    Apr 2007
    Probably a 2000 model or from around that era if that's what it actually is, it looks to have been repainted.

If it's a GT Zaskar LE, I think that they came with XT/XTR derailleurs and shifters not LX. If I'm right it's been downgraded.

It isn't suited to a rider that's 5'2" to 6'0" as stated in the ad, it looks to be a large frame that'd be more suited to a rider that's 6'+

I like how the disc brakes on it aren't mentioned in the ad, probably because they're cheap low quality.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009