1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Mar 2011

Is this a good deal on a 2005 Giant Reign 3? please help

Hey guys I am pretty new to mountain biking, I currently ride a 2007 specialized hardrock sport. I was wondering if this was a good deal, and a good upgrade for me to start getting into the full suspension bikes? I do not have much money to spend on a nicer new bike.

GIANT REIGN LARGE MOUNTAIN BIKE (5'10 TO 6'2)

thanks!

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    According to Bikepedia, it was originally $1600, and the one in the pic looks great, so I'd say yes!

BikePedia - 2005 Giant Reign 3 Complete Bicycle

mtbr member
    The components seem fair for the price, but not if its been abused and now just cleaned up for the pics.

If your close its worth a in person look I would think.

T.W.O.
    Not a bad deal, the bike looks to be in good condition, question is does it fit you. What size is your hardrock? It's hard to fit a bike on internet if it's a close match then I'd go look at it in person.

mtbr member
    An interesting find you have there - almost everything on that bike has been replaced from stock. The only item i see that is stock on it is the cranks and the rear shock.

Everything else has been replaced (with either similar level or slightly upgraded components).