1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    May 2013

Giant v. Jamis v. Specialized

Hello!
    I'm new to mountain biking and just went to about 10 LBSs to try out entry-level bikes. I'm a female, 5'9 and plan on riding beginner/intermediate trails and also using the bike to commute to work. I'm looking to spend between $500-$650 and definitely want a 29er.

I rode a Trek and also tried a Novara Torero (REI brand). On both, the gear shifting felt horrible and the Trek just felt too clunky. I tried a GT but have been told this is a very low-end brand? I also tried a Giant Talon 1, which I loved but it's a little out of my price range.

The three bikes I liked best, and are within my price range, were:

Giant Revel 1 29er
    Jamis Exile Sport
    Specialized Myka Sport Disc 29er

Does anyone have any suggestions for which is best? I think I'll be happy with any of them, but I don't have friends who mountain bike so it would be great to get some advice on brands/components, etc.

Anything will help!

Thanks guys!
    -C

mtbr member