1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Dec 2013

Giant AC - Beginner!

I've just bought myself a new (to me) Giant AC. I'd like to start getting into Downhill, and even though the AC isn't the best, it fit my skills and budget (got it very cheap). Now I'm a complete bike noob, so I'd just like a bit of advice.

Here are the specs the owner gave me, I'm not sure which parts are standard and which are aftermarket:

Giant AC frame
    Stance blunt 150mm Forks
    Alex rims
    Azotec Bar
    High Volume Rear Shock (not sure on brand?)
    Sram x7 gears and derailleur
    Shimano Hubs
    Single front gear
    Truvativ Hussefelt Crank Arms
    Upgraded Crank (???)
    Hayes Rear Brakes
    Avid Juicy 3 Front Brakes

Now I don't know these brands, or even what a few of the components are. If I wanted to get the bike up to decent spec so it's durable and reliable for light DH and general riding around, what should I look at first? The shocks seem to have a fair bit of travel but that just might be how it's setup.

I'm going to be taking it to get a service tonight as I want to make sure the bike is in perfect running order before ripping down a mountain on it.

Any tips and recommendations is much appreciated, the frame looks to be in good nick, and looks quite nice.

Cheers