1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Giant AC 1 Upgrade

Hey guys,

I'm new to the MTB and don't know as much as I do about other thing but I guess there is only one way to learn.

I am looking to upgrade by Giant AC 1 which I have recently brought for 140 pounds. It was in a pretty bad shape so there is quite a lot that I need to upgrade/replace.

I have currently replaced rear wheel to Shimano M475 Hub on Mavic XM317 Rimand brakes to Shimano Deore M615.

I need to replace the whole drivetrain as it skips but I'm not exactly sure what to buy.

I was looking at buying:
    Shimano SLX M665 Double Chainset

Shimano SLX M665 Double Chainset | Chain Reaction Cycles

Shomano XT M770 9 speed cassette

Shimano XT M770 9 Speed MTB Cassette | Chain Reaction Cycles

and I've already brought SRAM PC971 for now as it was on offer.

So my questions are ....
    Are the components I want to buy good and if so is the price right?
    Does anyone know what size BB Giant AC 1 has?

Thanks guys

Fat-tired Roadie
    I prefer to replace my drivetrains a piece at a time and only as necessary. In your shoes, for now I'd just put on the new chain and see if that's enough. Given that it skips, I wouldn't be surprised if you need the new cassette too, but don't get ahead of yourself.