1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

gf tasajara vs. rockhopper comp disc

im new to mtb. was wondering if anyone can help me decide between these two bikes.

are the components on these bikes compareable?

i have test rode both but not side by side. they both feel pretty good. i know the gf is made in us and no idea where hopped is made. not sure if that matter at all.

thanx.

I endorse self propulsion
    i ride an '05 rockhopper comp disc. its been great so far, and i feel like its been able to handle my 220lbs during pretty aggressive XC rides. i would definitely recommend it. but i don't think you could go wrong with either bike. I hear the GF geometry is a little different, so just go with the one that fits you better.
    "Pops trippin', he want me to ask for my bike back. You know I wouldn't trip."

Yeah, I'm a n00b