1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Getting started!!!

I welcome my self to this great community!

Im an absolute beginner to the sport however ive ridden almost every type of bike at least once throughout my younger years...

I am now on the search for a starting point in Mountain Biking that will in turn lead to downhill free riding... Thats definitely where im aiming, since where i live, Cyprus, mountains are full of unforgiving trails waiting to be ridden!

Anyway im here for suggestions on my first mtb!

Ive been told that its good to start with a cross country mtb and go from there as i see fit since for the moment being i will be just riding in the town and around the fields...

My budget is anyway a bit low for All-mountain or full suspension bikes at ~700 EUR...

After some weeks of research i came down to a couple of models im interested in. First place i visited was ORBEA and Specialized dealerships and ive set my eyes on the ORBEA Satellite and the Specialized hardrock, both at around ~700 EUR...

I also visited GIANT and set my eyes on the Revel 1 2013 model also around my budget..

My questions are:

1. Is it a good thing to start with a cross country bike or save and go straight to what i have a passion for?