mtbr member
    May 2008

Getting back into it

Hey guys,
    I rode mtn bikes some years ago (pre college) now that I'm done and can afford nice toys again I want to get back into the sport. My question is - Should I get a good midline
    (600-800 dollar bike) ride the hell out of it, crash a few times learning the sport again or would it be better to go ahead and get a bike like the X-Cal or the Kula 2-9 and just take my lumps on replacing more expensive components as I re-educate myself on proper riding? Both sides have their merit, and am just throwing out this questions to see what you 'experts' would recommend.
    Cheers

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Well, I'm not an expert but I recently got back into mtb'ing after about 10 years and bought a $500 bike. I wish I had spent more. I like the frame and don't mind the cheaper components, but it's mainly the cheap fork I don't like. It's a Rock Shox Dart 3 and it's bouncy, sticky, and not plush. I think if you have the money at least look at $800 and up. Preferably $1200. That's where I would look if I had the money to buy a new bike. Have fun. I'm glad I got back into it. Having a blast.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    What's with you guys needing a new bike to get back into it? I myself am just getting back into it after 9 years (graduated, married, house, dog, kid, kid) and I still have my old ride. She married me and the bike came with.

Back in '99 I bought right at the price break point, where I could get the frame I wanted and then upgrade the components as I went. All these years later it still seems like a good idea as the components are relatively interchangeable still. I'm picking up with my plans where I left off and really wouldn't have had it any other way. This way you can get on it and ride again, then prioritize replacements moving forward as you re-educate yourself in equipment.

Short answer: Get a bike in $900-1100 range with a good frame and then upgrade pieces when $$ allows.

mtbr member