1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jan 2015

FNG looking for advice

I'm a disabled veteran, and starting to really put on weight since getting out of the Army. I'm wanting to start trail riding. None of the bike shops in my area have a used bike that will fit my size. I'm 6'4" and 265. So the price for bikes get pretty pricey. I started looking at bikesdirect.com, and they have prices I can handle. I'm being cheap only because I don't wanna drop a lot in a bike and hurt myself to where I can't ride again. Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Fat-tired Roadie
    A couple.

Have you been using a saved search on Craig's List? Or just looked a couple times?

Have you phoned around to your local shops? Everywhere I've lived has supported at least one used bike shop.

If I were to go catalog, I'd be looking at Airborne and Fezzari too. You have to give bikesdirect specs a really close read.

Finally, assume success. Don't hedge - get the bike you think you want.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Jan 2015