1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

flat pedal suggestions

I am very new to bicycles and dont know yet what are good/bad brands. Typically I buy the best bang for your buck type parts. I also have an entry level bike so dont need top of the line. 13 Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 29er.

My current plastic pedals have some of the nubs sheered off them causing some grip issues. I would like something metal to try and prevent some of this in the future. Also on the metal flats are the nubs replaceable?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Most metal pedals have replaceable pins but not all. I have deity skyscrapers, dmr vaults, xpedo hurtle curve, blackspire, and canfield crampons. I like the deity's , dmr's and the canfield s the best but they are all higher priced pedals.

mtbr member
    It's hard to beat Wellgo MG1 for price and durability. Can be had all day off ebay for round 40 bucks shipped.
    Atomlabs Pimplites are my fav and the older design are great too, and if you can find em should be pretty cheap.
    Round and round we go

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    I purchased these about a month ago and am very happy with them so far. My feet stick to them like glue