1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

First XC Race..Any Advice?

Sunday will be my first XC race. I have been training myself at a local trail for over 4 months. I also do long distance rides on a state trail for endurance.

I have purchased a Giant NRS3 and it is tuned up and ready to roll. I will have about 2 weeks on the bike by Sunday. Im pretty comfortable with it.

I can complete a 8 mile single trac in about 50 minutes. This singletrac is beginner to intermediate terrain.

I will be doing a 4.5mile loop 2x on Sunday. It is the Citizen Division which is the lowest division besides First Timers. I have decided to skip the First Timers race because it is only 4 miles long, and ive been training for 4 months. I know some of you will frown on this, but I am only getting 3 races in this year and I did not want to sacrifice one of them in a race that is not even scored (no points are awarded).

To be honest im extremely nervous as I dont know what to expect. Im not sure if these guys are gonna blow me right out of the water and im gonna look like an idiot or what. Will they be mean to me my first race and give me the cold shoulder?

How will I know when to pass? There is no passing on single track right?

Any advice/suggestions is appreciated.

Sorry for the book.

mtbr member