1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2012

New question here. First time buyer! Several questions I can't seem to find answers to... Help?

Hi all! I'm new to this sport, and will be purchasing my first MTB soon, but I have some questions I can't seem to get solid answers to.

Before all that, here's a little about me. I'm 5'11" 160lbs and I'll be using this bike for a little bit of everything. Commuting, riding around town, cross country trail stuff and up and down the local hills and mountains and real bike trails. I donít plan on screaming downhill, but everything else is fair game. Iíd like to spend around $300-$600, but if thereís value in a $1k bike Iíll consider it.

1) For someone like me, how would a $1.5K to $2K FS bike from 2000 compare to a new $500 entry level hardtail from my LBS? Are the better components and quality of the 2000 bike still good enough to have value today? What are the benefits of buying new from a LBS vs a 10 year old quality bike off craigslist?