1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jan 2014

First post - Modification help

Hi All

I'm after some advice on modifying/customising my bike. Im a bit of a newbie too, only 2 months riding, but i am the kinda guy who wants to run before they can walk.
    I have a stock 2014 Giant Talon 1 27.5 (except for pedals)
    I'd just like to make a few changes to suit me and my riding style. I am not concerned about lowering the weight of the bike either.

All mods will be done by a LBS as i have no idea what i am doing and dont have anyone who could help me

Currently i intend to fit a RF NW 30T Chainring within the next month. I am hoping this wouldnt cost more than $150 AUS

Now for the Questions:

What about handle bars, WHy do riders change them?
    Are riser bars justifiable on a HT?
    Do they give more of a AM or DH feel?

What about the length of the bars? currently the bike is 670mm.
    I think i would like to go a little shorter. Does 10mm make a big difference

What about stems. how can they vary in conjuction with the stock handlebars or new/riser bars?

Do handgrips make much of a difference?

What about seat posts? are there better or worse types?
    DO they make better quality seat post sleeves as the stock is hard to adjust.