Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

First post, first mtn bike upgrade suggestions

2K views 21 replies 16 participants last post by  Yamaha250 
#1 ·
Hey there, this is my first post. I just picked up a 2013 khs alite 350 as a cheap entry level bike to practice on, just wondering what possible upgrades anyone would suggest. Oh yah I'm a university student so I cant afford to buy a 3000$ bike if that's your suggestion.I Like downhill with small drops and jumps want to learn to go bigger while I save for a better bike
thanks!

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
If you're already looking to upgrade the bike you hust got why didn't you buy a better one in the first place?
Ride it as it is, sooner or later you'll have a good feel of what components are holding you back.

Most efficient & cheapest upgrades you can do is cockpit & tires. The popular short stem/wide bar combo is oopular for a reason, it greatly improves handling and control. A new set of tires that suit your terrain/style will give you more grip in turns, climbing and possibly better rolling. Always go for grippier on the front, faster on the back. Volume is your friend as it allows for lower pressures which mean more traction and comfort.
More expensive but just as important is a good fork. It will completely transform your ride. Finally, a good set of wheels, but we are getting spendy by now. Best to avoid complete wheelsets, have someone build you a good 32-hole set, go for tubeless rims if possible and reliable, serviceable hubs. If you reach that point though, maybe it's time for a new bike.

#4 ·
I also just got into the game, or back into it after a 25 year absence.

My needs will be different, but I started with a decent entry level bike too; a base specialized rockhopper I bought lightly used.

I figure this bike will teach what I need to know about maintenance and where I want to go next.