1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    Awww CRAP!
    Mar 2010

First Off-road ride today!

I've been dying to get my bike off of the pavement since I got it 3 weeks ago and I finally got the chance today. This was my first trip into the woods on a bike ever, and I just started riding a bike again when I got this one.
    I had the best time I've had in a long long time

Ever since I sold my drag car I've been looking for a hobby to take its place, and i think I may have found my new addiction. The feeling when you start building some speed, coming around a few turns and through some dips was awesome!

I went to HP because i would be heading in that direction today any how. Obviously I don't have anything to compare it to so I'm wondering how it compares to some other places, difficulty and layout wise? It's almost all rock and root, and a lot of short climbing sections, is everywhere like this? I live very close to Lynn Woods and Topsfield is close too. I would also like to get out to nam.
    I feel like I did pretty well for my first time out. I did have to get off the bike a few times for some of the rockier climbs, and at a couple smaller bridges in some techy areas but for the most part I was able to navigate fairly well. I learned a few things too though,