1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

First Mountain Bike

Hi I'm new to the forum and looking to get into mountain biking. I don't want to put in more than $450 because I find it hard to justify spending much more to this on something I've never done before. I've been looking around some and have come across some bikes in my price range. I know my options are limited but I cannot spend more than the $450 mark which is already pushing it. The ones I have found so far are:

Diamondback Overdrive
    Gravity 29.1
    MotobecaneFantom29Sport

I'm looking for some input on one of these bikes or another for under $450. I know this restricts what I can do but I really can't go any higher.

Thanks for any help

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by aemery View Post
    Hi I'm new to the forum and looking to get into mountain biking. I don't want to put in more than $450 because I find it hard to justify spending much more to this on something I've never done before. I've been looking around some and have come across some bikes in my price range. I know my options are limited but I cannot spend more than the $450 mark which is already pushing it. The ones I have found so far are:

Diamondback Overdrive
    Gravity 29.1
    MotobecaneFantom29Sport