1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Nov 2013

First DH Bike advice please

Hello,
    I'm a beginner to DH and I was hoping that you guys can give me some advice on this bike I'm interested in.
    Specialized Big Hit, Custom Build 2006, Fox DHX, ATOMLAB PIMP, MARZOCCHI 66, M | eBay

As you can see my budget is really low atm around 500 and I want to buy a good used bike that will get me started and also some good quality gear. I also don't mind learning on a good HT bike. I'm mostly interested in trails like Aston Hills to get me started. www.rideastonhill.co.uk

I'm looking forward to hearing what you guys have to say.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    That bike is a solid buy at that price. Looks to be in good shape, lots of upgrades.
    Those trails look pretty damn fun too. Rip it up!

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by slapheadmofo View Post
    That bike is a solid buy at that price. Looks to be in good shape, lots of upgrades.
    Those trails look pretty damn fun too. Rip it up!