1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

First Bike Recommendation Needed... Budget Bikes!

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie in bikes... I'm planning to ride a bike for short-distanced travelling, e.g. travelling to school and supermarkets. I will mostly ride on pavements and sidewalks. And most importantly, my budget is really tight. I have around 300 dollars to spend on it, but it is best if the cost can be kept under 200. I hope to have a decent bike

Thanks

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    With such a tight budget I would be looking for something second hand. check out what is on CL for you area, you may be able to pick up an awesome deal.

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by subsist View Post
    With such a tight budget I would be looking for something second hand. check out what is on CL for you area, you may be able to pick up an awesome deal.
    Thx for replying. However, I'm not familiar with the different types of bikes and brands. Do you have any recommendations for me? Thank you

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    There are so many different types of bikes and brands that I don't know where to start.
    In your price range and the type of riding you are doing you should be looking at a hardtail [as opposed to a full suspension] with maybe even a rigid front fork.