1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2011

First Bike Advice - Thanks!

Hi, I am currently a student and I've been looking for two things. A quick, efficient way to get back and forth to class while saving some money (gas) and secondly, a good pass-time to relieve/forget about the stresses of class.

My buddy and I have decided to look into biking and all the research we have done, this seems like a great sport we could venture into.

But here comes the questions. I am new to the whole biking scene; I have no bike shop around me; and I am on a tight budget. My main two concerns are commuting and very light to light trail riding.

I am ~5'4" with a 29" inseam. Like I said, there is not a bike shop around me, therefore, I've been having a hard place finding somewhere to be fitted. I am not extremely dedicated to biking (school comes first) and therefore, I am not willing to put a ton of time and money into it. I am just looking for something fun and efficient.

Currently, I am looking at a Trek on craigslist. The only details provided are as follows:
    -gently used
    -medium sized frame
    -24 gears
    I contacted the seller and they provided the following details:
    It's a 4300. It has a 29 inch standover height. Ideal for 5ft 5" or less.