1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Few bikes to choose from

I'm new to mountain Biking and will be doing mainly trail riding with the occasional road riding. I will also want to hit small jumps. I went to my lbs the other day and these are the bikes that they had under $1000. Trek marlin, trek mamba, trek wahoo, specialized hard rock and hard rock sport and specialized rockhopper. There may have been another 1 or 2 but what do you guys suggest for me to get. Do you think the $600 bikes will be good enough for what I want to do or should I spend the money on the $1000 with the rockshox forks?thanks

mtbr member
    I used this google thing on the intrawebs. Bike radar liked the Trek Mamba the best, though they had nothing on the Wahoo. If you search for reviews it might help you with your decision. You are the only one that can ride the bikes and decide which one you like the best. I highly recommend that you do that.
    Specialized Rockhopper Comp Review - BikeRadar Specialized Hardrock Sport - BikeRadar Specialized Hardrock SE Review - BikeRadar Trek Mamba Review - BikeRadar Trek Marlin Review - BikeRadar

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    Yea I no. It just sucks because I won't be able to test ride them in the trails to see which one I'd like best.

mtbr member