1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Mar 2006

A few bike tuning questions

Hi,

I've just replaced most components on my bike; left it out rusting in the balcony for over a year . The bike "sort of" works, but since I'm a complete noob I'm worried I may have set things up incorrectly. Here are a few q's that I have:

1) Rear derailleur pulley frequently hits largest sprocket
    - b-screw fully turned in; it helped a little
    - if I manually move the derailleur out and slowly let it move back in, it's ok
    - if I switch from a higher gear back to it, the two will occassionally hit; I can feel it if I turn the crankarm by hand

2) Front derailleur shifting
    - when shifting from a smaller chainring to a larger chainring, I noticed that the deraileur actually pushes the chain against the side of the larger chainring. Is this normal?

The last one is actually not about tuning. I just got my first pair of clipless shoes/pedals. The shoes are a pair of Shimano MT-40 mtb shoes. I found it a little weird that I need to stick a piece of sticker to the inside of the shoes for "water sealing". Doesn't feel very water resistant to me. Is this normal for a shoe in this price range (~$80)?

Thanks!

ride hard take risks

mtbr member
    Mar 2005

hmmm

Quote Originally Posted by SANdave
    Hi,