1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Fellow newbs, it can be done! DIY fork install upgrade

The Backstory:
    Im relatively new to mountain biking, and biking in general. Almost 2 months ago I bought a brand new 2013 Scott Aspect 940 hard tail from a LBS. Ive been riding it non stop and put just over 200 mi on it so far. As my skills have improved, I noticed that my fork was seriously lacking. I have done a lot of reading on this forum, and its full of information if you just take the time to look for it. I have zero biking specific mechanical knowledge (only what I've learned on here), but do have above average basic mechanical skills.

The Problem:
    The aspect comes stock with a sr suntour XCM coil spring fork. I was having a serious hard time at my local trail, coming out of a fast root section, immediately going into a turn and the front tire still bouncing . Well needless to say its hard to turn when the front tire isnt on the ground. This began my search for a better fork at an affordable price. I was seriously considering taking advantage of the $175 suntour upgrade program, but decided the hold out for a bit to see if something better came along. Info on that can be found here
    If you want to upgrade your Suntour fork

The Solution: