1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2005

Feathering the brakes

Hi,

I am pretty new to mtbking and, because english is not my first language, I have one stupid question: what does feathering the brakes mean???? I am trying to improve going downhill and everything I read about the subject mentions feathering the brakes.

Thanks a lot in advance and my apologies for the newbie question.
    A climb is really just a flat piece of road that points up. A headwind is a climb that you can't see. So it's all flat road, really.

bi-winning
    Quote Originally Posted by dbblackdiamond
    Hi,

I am pretty new to mtbking and, because english is not my first language, I have one stupid question: what does feathering the brakes mean???? I am trying to improve going downhill and everything I read about the subject mentions feathering the brakes.

Thanks a lot in advance and my apologies for the newbie question.
    A feather is very light...

Using that idea, feathering the brakes means braking very lightly. Not necessarily steadily, it could be light on/off as needed.
    When under pressure, your level of performance will sink to your level of preparation.

Shorthills Cycling Club

mtbr member
    Sep 2005