1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

Fall/Winter wear?

Hi! I didn't have any response from the apparel forum, so I thought of asking here.

Newbie here. I am in Illinois. Summer is about to end and Fall/Winter is just around the corner. I just wanted to ask what apparel should I prepare to get and where? I would like to have the cheapest options too as I am unemployed with a student loan to worry about.

Thanks!

Hermit
    I'm over in Ohio and ride all winter (as long as the snow isn't too deep).

I don't go for high tech specialized mtb clothes. What I do is dress lightly, usually either lined nylon running pants, or polypro longjohns under riding shorts, and a non-cotton long sleeved top (been using an acrylic ski sweater most often). I also have glove liners that I can use and wear insulated hunting socks. This is usually good down to about 15 degrees F.

When I start out I'm usually a bit cold, but my metabolism runs like a blast furnace, so after 5 minutes I'm sweating. Usually I warm up enough that I don't even wear the glove liners.