1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Entry Road Bike

mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Entry Road Bike

I'm looking for an entry level roadbike but I'm a total newb in road stuff.

I really fancy Specialized Bicycle Components but i'm clueless about groups and stiffness and design on a roadbike..

I want a road bike for some cruising/training on the road between my MTB rides.
    Price about 1200$ not more then 1400$

Anyone got some advice on nice roadbikes?

mtbr member
    For 2013, Shimano road bicycle groupsets include:
    Dura-Ace Di2 [9070] (11 speed electronic)
    Dura-Ace [9000] (11 speed)
    Dura-Ace Track [7710] (NJS-approved, which is a requirement of all bicycle components used in professional Keirin racing in Japan)
    Ultegra Di2 [6870] (11 speed electronic)
    Ultegra Di2 [6770] (10 speed electronic)
    Ultegra [6800] (11 speed)
    Ultegra [6700] (10 speed)
    105 [5700] (10 speed)
    Tiagra [4600] (10 speed, 9 speed on older models)
    Sora [3500] (9 speed, 8 speed on older models)
    Claris [2400] (8 speed)

SRAM Double Tap shifting technology:
    SRAM Red22
    SRAM Red 2012
    SRAM Black Red (Introduced 2011)
    SRAM Force22
    SRAM Force
    SRAM Rival
    SRAM Apex (Introduced for 2010)