1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Nov 2009

Entry level clipless pedal and shoe recommendations

Ok, Im just getting into the sport. I purchased a DB Coil EX for only $250 at *****. A steal I figured afterlooking into a Trek. Again its a starter bike OK and my son will get it and when and if I get more serious and have already upgraded the front shock to Rock Shox 318 Solo Air and shifter/derailleurs to SRAM X7's. Still $500 bike.

I purchased a mountain bike because I do own ATV's, Dirtbikes, and a buggy I love dirt and the outdoors. Also I enjoy working out in the gym 5 days a week and I figured why not move my workout outdoors!

Now that you know what why Im riding, (thanks for your patience). I started riding this bike on the street and have hit my local parks for I believe is XC riding (fire roads really). I purchased old school Cradle pedals because I want to work out both my quads and hamstrings push/pull right? It seems that clipless is the way to go cause Im sure I get smerks when they see me with cradle pedals

What do you folks recommend I start with that do not cost an arm and a leg and I do shop on fleabay alot. Thanks again for your patience and advice!!

mtbr member
    Feb 2010