Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member

New question here. Educated experienced help needed.

Good Morning,
    I will try to keep this short but have lot of questions.
    I am a MTB Newbie, I know that I do not know a lot about bikes.
    I am going to purchase a bike in the near future, but as of right now do not know exactly what I am looking for or what I "should" be looking for.
    I want a multi versatile bike. I think I would prefer full suspension over front suspension.
    Now, my bike budget is around $2K.
    I really like the bikes from (Felt, Specialized, Jamis, Scott) but they are also not very inexpensive.
    Okay folks don't lynch me now...but...
    I hear a lot of bad things about bikesdirect.com and I don't see what its based on. Is Motobecane junk because it does not say Felt etc. on it ??? I'm inexperienced but it does seem as though their bike come with forks, derailleurs, brakes etc found on higher end bikes.
    What am I missing here? And if you had $2K to spend on a new bike, which direction would you go and why ?
    Any help is appreciated, Thank you

mtbr member
    I certainly would not refer to Motobecane "junk..." bikesdirect can put together some very good components at a really decent price point...a friend just bought a new one just for the XT drive train and fork.

You should think a bit though on the FS ditty...you can get a top-tier alloy HT for 2K from all the mfg you like and recognize...do you really need a FS at this point?
    2014 Nail Trail 29...

mtbr member
    The honest truth is I do not know if I need a FS or if its just because it "looks useful".
    How Would a $2k "known brand HT" compare to a $2K "Motobecane FS"
    I am really trying to educate myself on what to look for and consider, before I make a decision. I am sitting here with the Mountain Bike Action 2014 Buyers Guide, and looking at forums and bikesdirect all at once.

mtbr member